Frodsham Congress 1 - 3 February 2019

Results of competitions with tables, or as much detail as is possible.
Post Reply
Pat Ridley
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:31 pm

Frodsham Congress 1 - 3 February 2019

Post by Pat Ridley » Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:28 pm

This year’s congress took place at Frodsham Community Centre on 1st.-3rd. February, with 94 players. This was somewhat lower than in recent years, perhaps because of the problems of snow and ice in some parts of the country.

The FIDE-rated Open was won jointly by Oliver Jackson (for the second time) and Thomas Carroll (Hoylake), ahead of Chris Vassiliou (Chorlton) and Ronald Schult (SG Weissensee 49, Germany) who were equal third.

First place in the Under 160 section went to Greg Hughes (Wallasey), with Geoff Laurence (Macclesfield) second. Five players; Sam Davies (Tiger Chess), Andrew Barber (Buckley/Mold), Kevin Winter (Bradford), Mark Cromwell (Frodsham) and Michael Farthing (Morecambe), shared third place.

The outright winner of the Under 120 section was David Price (Crewe). Julian Hawthorne, Paul Jackson and Andrew Beswick (Chorlton) shared second prize.

The Team Prize (a digital clock) was won by Crewe (David Price, Neville Layhe, Doug Barnett and Les Hall), for the second time, with 9.5/15, ahead of Chester (9) and Formby (8.5).

The Congress was ably controlled by FIDE Arbiter David Clayton.

Detailed results:

Open (17 players)

1st =: Oliver Jackson (no club), Thomas Carroll (Hoylake) 4.
3rd=: Ronald Schult (SG Weissensee 49, DE), Chris Vassiliou 3.5
Performance Prize (W-We): Paul Doherty (Bolton) 3.
Others on 3: Mike Surtees(Great Lever), Chris Doran (Chester),
Michael McDonagh (Chester).

Under 160 (39 players)

1st: Greg Hughes 4.5.
2nd: Geoff Laurence 4.
3rd=: Sam Davies (Tiger Chess), Andrew Barber (Buckley/Mold), Kevin Winter (Bradford), Mark Cromwell (Frodsham) 3.5.
Grading Prizes (Under 138): Michael Farthing (Morecambe) 3.5.
On 3: Steven Potter (St Helens), Andrew Raeburn (Holmes Chapel),
Reg Clucas (Altrincham & Hale), Michael Connor (Great Lever), David Hall (Perth), Peter Fisher (Wrexham), Ray Williams (Chester),
Philip Colville (Macclesfield), Stephen Lloyd (Chester), Michael Lee (Holmes Chapel), Douglas Barnett (Crewe),
Mike Barrett (Formby), Li Jiping (Yorkshire Congresses).

Under 120 (38 players)

1st: David Price (Crewe) 4.5.
2nd=: Julian Hawthorne (no club), Paul Jackson (no club), Andrew Beswick (Chorlton) 4.
Grading Prize (Under 100): Jeff Wilson (Oldham), Brian Crompton (Pensby),
Ben Newnham (Tattenhall) 3.
Others on 3.5: Steve Richards (Wrexham), David Houston (Rhyl & Prestatyn).
Others on 3: James Babington (Rhyl & Prestatyn), Martin Murphy (Denton),
Alan Kelly (Wallasey), Robert Greaves (Oldham).

The full cross-tables will be at

Post Reply