The English Language

A section to discuss matters not related to Chess in particular.
User avatar
MJMcCready
Posts: 2567
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 2:30 pm

Re: The English Language

Post by MJMcCready » Fri Aug 05, 2022 12:39 pm

I don't think that was written by Rolf Harris.

Reg Clucas
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:45 pm

Re: The English Language

Post by Reg Clucas » Fri Aug 05, 2022 3:37 pm

soheil_hooshdaran wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2022 10:15 pm
Thanks.
What does it mean that "Children thrive on routine"?
It means they feel more secure and happy when their daily life contains things/events they can rely on.

soheil_hooshdaran
Posts: 3131
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:24 pm

Re: The English Language

Post by soheil_hooshdaran » Sat Aug 06, 2022 6:22 pm

Thanks.
If you feel too emotional going into a situation, wait a bit if possible.
Means
If with entering a situation, .or
if for entering a situation
you feel too emotional, wait a bit
?

soheil_hooshdaran
Posts: 3131
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:24 pm

Re: The English Language

Post by soheil_hooshdaran » Sat Aug 06, 2022 7:47 pm

What's the difference between intimidating and scaring others?

Nick Ivell
Posts: 836
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:33 pm

Re: The English Language

Post by Nick Ivell » Sun Aug 07, 2022 11:45 am

Very little difference between those two verbs.

soheil_hooshdaran
Posts: 3131
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:24 pm

Re: The English Language

Post by soheil_hooshdaran » Mon Aug 08, 2022 5:02 am

Thanks. That's what confused me.

User avatar
MJMcCready
Posts: 2567
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 2:30 pm

Re: The English Language

Post by MJMcCready » Tue Aug 09, 2022 1:57 pm

Intimidate tends to refer to psychological threats whereas scare is more associated with physical threats.

Post Reply