Burn Out -how to detect it?

Discuss anything you like about chess related matters in this forum.
MJMcCready

Burn Out -how to detect it?

Post by MJMcCready » Fri Feb 26, 2021 11:49 am

How can you tell if you've been over doing it and are feeling a bit burnt out from too much chess? I only started playing on line at the end of July last year yet by the year was out I'd already played well over 1000 games. I seem to have reached the point where I am switching off during the games and not calculating half as much as I usually do. How can you tell if you are starting to feel burnt out and need to put the brakes on? It seems to me that by playing chess on-line you are more exposed to that phenomenon since you can play anytime you like rather than once a week down the club for example.

Harry Duff

Re: Burn Out -how to detect it?

Post by Harry Duff » Fri Feb 26, 2021 3:28 pm

I think you give the answer when you say you find yourself switching off during games or not calculating as much as you usually do. You sound like you are playing chess because you play chess ie out of habit rather than enjoyment. I often get this - I play chess sometimes because I'm bored and not because I really want to play chess.

Matt Mackenzie

Post by Matt Mackenzie » Fri Feb 26, 2021 3:32 pm

Its one reason why I have hardly ever played online chess.
"Set up your attacks so that when the fire is out, it isn't out!" (H N Pillsbury)

MJMcCready

Post by MJMcCready » Fri Feb 26, 2021 4:36 pm

Harry Duff wrote:
Fri Feb 26, 2021 3:28 pm
I think you give the answer when you say you find yourself switching off during games or not calculating as much as you usually do. You sound like you are playing chess because you play chess ie out of habit rather than enjoyment. I often get this - I play chess sometimes because I'm bored and not because I really want to play chess.
Yes, that's often the case.

Christopher Kreuzer

Post by Christopher Kreuzer » Fri Feb 26, 2021 4:49 pm

Matt Mackenzie wrote: