Some thoughts on anti-cheating systems

Discuss anything you like about chess related matters in this forum.
Roger Lancaster

Some thoughts on anti-cheating systems

Post by Roger Lancaster » Fri May 29, 2020 1:39 pm

I had, perhaps rather naively, assumed that everyone realised that - despite the occasional claims to the contrary - the calculations which underpin the various anti-cheating mechanisms result in probabilities and not certainties.   It's a long time since I studied probability and statistics, so I'm far from sure that I'm the best-equipped person to do this, but here's my take on the subject.    Nevertheless, this is a quick run-through.    I should add that I was unable to attend Tuesday [26 May]  evening's webinar and so haven't had the benefit of hearing from the speakers there.

Anti-cheating mechanisms claim to use a variety of methods to detect online computer cheats including 'window switching' and considering the respective lengths of time taken to make obvious, as opposed to not-so-obvious, moves where it might be expected that an unassisted human would routinely make the former faster than the latter.   However, what follows will attempt to disregard these and crystallise my thinking [and I ask readers to forgive any errors or omissions] on mathematical aspects.

The mathematical aspects involve stipulating a hypothesis - possibly, "This player never uses computer assistance" - and testing it against data, in this case, chess moves played by the player in question, to determine a probability that the hypothesis is true.